• RSS

Click on the above image to view a full size PDF of the bracket
PDF will be updated at the conclusion of the contest



1966 International Falls Broncos (26-0) have been voted the greatest boys’ high school hockey team in Minnesota history by the State of Hockey.

View the full press release.


Championship Game
1966 International Falls Broncos (26-0) defeated 1959 Roseau Rams (30-0)

Click here for Final Four team information

Semifinals, Game #2
1959 Roseau Rams (30-0) defeated 1993 Bloomington Jefferson Jaguars (28-0)

Semifinals, Game #1
1966 International Falls Broncos (26-0) defeated 2001 Elk River Elks (29-1-1).

Quarterfinals, Game #4
1993 Bloomington Jefferson Jaguars (28-0) defeated 1950 Eveleth Golden Bears (22-0).

Quarterfinals, Game #3
2001 Elk River Elks (29-1-1) defeated 1947 St. Paul Johnson Governors (34-1) with 64% of the votes

Quarterfinals, Game #2
1959 Roeau Rams (30-0) defeated 1983 Hill Murray Pioneers (28-0) with 53% of the votes

Quarterfinals, Game #1
1966 International Falls Broncos (26-0) defeated 1974 Edina East Hornets (24-0) with 89% of the votes

Play-in game #2
1993 Bloomington Jefferson Jaguars (28-0) defeated 2004 Centennial-Circle Pines Cougars (30-1) with 59% of the votes

Play-in game #1
2001 Elk River Elks (29-1-1) defeated 1996 Apple Valley Eagles (27-1) in a tight matchup with 50.6% of the votes

Text the school nickname of your choice to "83281"
All matchups start at noon of the date listed and ends at Noon on the day of the next home game. When voting opens, text the nickname of the team you would like to vote for to short code "83281". Standard text messaging rates apply. Winner will be announced Friday, April 10, 2009.

Final Four team information

1.    2001 Elk River AA (29-1-1):  Kelly Plude’s hat trick paced this northern suburb to their first state championship, a decisive 8-1 triumph over Moorhead.  Plude and teammates Trevor Stewart and Chris Nathe made the All-Tournament Team. The Elks had finished third in 1999 with future New Jersey Devils’ defenseman Paul Martin, who also made the All-Tournament team, in the line-up.  They had made their first state tournament appearance in 1993 with Dan Hinote, now with the St. Louis Blues, taking a regular shift.

2.    1966 International Falls (26-0):  The Broncos defeated Roseau for their fifth state tournament triumph, third in a row, with future United States Hockey Hall of Famer Tim Sheehy in the line-up. Sheehy went on to an All-American career at Boston College and was a member of the World Hockey Association’s first championship team, the 1972-73 New England Whalers. Coach Larry Ross, a Hall of Famer himself, had four players make the All-Tournament Team: Sheehy, Ron Beck, Ron Weum, and Steve Ross.

3.    1959 Roseau (30-0):  Eveleth native Oscar Almquist, who had played goal for the minor league St. Paul Saints in the 1930’s, coached the Rams to their third state title with a 4-2 win over Washburn.  The team featured future collegians Don Ross, North Dakota, and Larry/Jim Stordahl, Minnesota. Ross was an All-American defenseman in both 1962-63 and 1964-65. He and Larry Stordahl were members of the 1968 United States Olympic Team.

4.    1993 Bloomington Jefferson  (28-0):  Coach Tom Saterdalen retired after a 29 year coaching career and this team, which defeated Hill-Murray 4-0 for the championship, may have been his finest. Mark Parrish and Mike Crowley were key cogs in the squad’s success. Parrish went on to St. Cloud where he was an All-American. He subsequently played in the NHL with Florida, the New York Islanders, Los Angeles, Minnesota, and Dallas. Crowley was a two time All-American defenseman at Minnesota who later logged NHL time with Anaheim. 
Certified Green